, Start Time: 13:00, End Time: 14:00 St Magnus Cathedral Broad Street, Kirkwall KW15 1NX


These two young virtuosi bring the Festival’s new Steinway piano to the fore for the first time with a piano duo recital.

Samson Tsoy & Pavel Kolesnikov Piano Duo

Beethoven 8 Variations from the theme ‘Grafen Von Waldstein’ WoO 67

Beethoven Große Fuge, Op. 133

Stravinsky The Rite of Spring

Beethoven’s simple variations on a theme from Count Waldstein, dedicatee of his well-known piano sonata, sit with the composer’s own arrangement of his ‘Great Fugue’ Op. 133 originally for string quartet. Another composer’s ‘great’ work finishes this programme with a highly virtuosic performance of Stravinsky’s masterpiece ballet score which took the musical world by storm at its first performance.

Samson Tsoy was born in Kazakhstan and Pavel Kolesnikov was born in Russia but both now live in London and in 2014 were chosen by the City Music Foundation and BBC New Generation Artists respectively to join their schemes for young performing artists. They travel the world treating audiences to extraordinary, critically acclaimed performances, thrilling fans all over the globe with their unique blend of virtuosity and brilliance. Their playing has been described as refined, spirited, thrilling and poetic.

Tickets £20, £17, £10 Concessions £15, £13, £8

Location Map

St Magnus Cathedral

Broad Street KW15 1NX

Tel: 01856 874894

St Magnus International Festival, 13 Albert Street, Kirkwall, KW15 1HP

T: +44 (0)1856 871445

E: info@stmagnusfestival.com

St Magnus Festival is a charity registered in Scotland. Scottish Charity No SC011666. Company Number SC073825.

website by plexus media