29 Octets and Quartets in the Round

, Start Time: 19:30, End Time: 21:30 St Magnus Cathedral Broad Street, Kirkwall KW15 1NX


Gildas Quartet

To end their respective residencies, the Edinburgh and Gildas Quartets join together for two Octet works.  The Shostakovich Octet was written while he was still a young student at the Leningrad and its second movment the Scherzo is fizzing with dynamic energy. Svendsen’s work is a substantial undiscovered gem for string octet and was instantly a huge success after its première in 1866.  Norwegian born, Svendsen studied in Leipzig but this work is suffused with Nordic melodic turns of phrase and a hugely romantic richness.  The quartets bring two enigmatic works from their own repertoire to the rest of the concert with Alasdair Nicolson’s quartet based around the elusive texts of Fernando Pessoa and Janacek’s response to the novella by Tolstoy.

Played in the round, this is an opportunity to get close to the performance with the audience surrounding the stage.

Alasdair Nicolson  Quartet No. 3 “Slanting Rain”
Shostakovich   Octet
Janáček  Quartet No. 1 “Kreutzer Sonata”
Svendsen   Octet in A, Op. 3

Tickets £17 Concessions £11

Please note, this concert will be staged in the round and seating is unreserved.

Duration approximately 2 hours

Location Map

St Magnus Cathedral

Broad Street KW15 1NX

Tel: 01856 874894

St Magnus International Festival, 13 Albert Street, Kirkwall, KW15 1HP

T: +44 (0)1856 871445

E: info@stmagnusfestival.com

St Magnus Festival is a charity registered in Scotland. Scottish Charity No SC011666. Company Number SC073825.

website by plexus media