, Start Time: 19:30, End Time: 21:30 Pickaquoy Centre Arena The Pickaquoy Centre, Muddisdale Road, Kirkwall KW15 1LR

BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra

St Magnus Festival Chorus

This concert looks both back to WWI and beyond into the world of peace. The German composer Rudi Stephan’s works are small in number as he was a casualty of WWI but filled with a turn of the century romantic expressionism and great promise which was brutally cut short.  An equally romantic work, the Elgar Cello Concerto celebrates the 100th anniversary from its premiere in the post-War era, here performed by the young Turkish cellist whose career has blossomed following a stunning Proms debut in 2017. Vaughan Williams’ call for peace, which precedes the Second World War, brings St Magnus Festival Chorus to the fore in settings of the Latin Mass text alongside words by Walt Whitman and some from political speeches.   The chorus is joined by one of the UK’s finest sopranos, Mary Bevan, and 2018 Ferrier Prize winner Will Thomas. 

Ben Gernon                Conductor

Jamal Aliyev               Cello

Mary Bevan                Soprano

Neal Davies                 Bass

Paul Rendall                Chorus Director

Stephan                       Music for Orchestra

Elgar                            Cello Concerto in E minor, Op.85

Vaughan Williams       Dona nobis pacem

Tickets £28, £24, £12 Concessions £21, £18, £9 ORCHESTRA EXPLORER SERIES

Duration 2 hours

Location Map

Pickaquoy Centre Arena

The Pickaquoy Centre, Muddisdale Road KW15 1LR

Tel: 01856 879900

St Magnus International Festival, 13 Albert Street, Kirkwall, KW15 1HP

T: +44 (0)1856 871445

E: info@stmagnusfestival.com

St Magnus Festival is a charity registered in Scotland. Scottish Charity No SC011666. Company Number SC073825.

website by plexus media