, Start Time: 19:30, End Time: 21:30 Pickaquoy Centre Arena The Pickaquoy Centre, Muddisdale Road, Kirkwall KW15 1LR


A celebration of the brass, wind and percussion from the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra brings vibrant and colourful musical fireworks to the Pickaquoy Arena.  Copland’s well-loved fanfare for the Common Man is complemented by Joan Tower’s response for the Uncommon Woman and Stravinsky’s highly coloured music inspires the Hommage by Ole Schmidt.   The evening comes to an explosive conclusion with Handel’s brilliant dance suite written for George II to celebrate the end of war. 

Ben Gernon               Conductor

Copland                       Fanfare for the Common Man

Stravinsky                   Symphonies of Wind Instruments

Joan Tower                 Fanfare for the Uncommon Woman

Schmidt                       Hommage à Stravinsky

Handel                         Music for the Royal Fireworks (HWV 351)

Tickets £28, £24, £13 Concessions £21, £18, £9 ORCHESTRA EXPLORER SERIES

Duration 2 hours

Location Map

Pickaquoy Centre Arena

The Pickaquoy Centre, Muddisdale Road KW15 1LR

Tel: 01856 879900

St Magnus International Festival, 13 Albert Street, Kirkwall, KW15 1HP

T: +44 (0)1856 871445

E: info@stmagnusfestival.com

St Magnus Festival is a charity registered in Scotland. Scottish Charity No SC011666. Company Number SC073825.

website by plexus media