, Start Time: 14:30, End Time: 16:30 Stromness Town Hall Church Road, Stromness KW16 3BA

The Maxwell String Quartet begin their residency with three of the master composers for string quartet. Mozart’s “Hunt” quartet is a work dedicated to Haydn and is a jewelled masterpiece with its hunting-horn themes.  Shostakovich’s ninth quartet is an intense piece, a dramatic landscape filled with light and shade.  Beethoven’s great 13th quartet is a grand scale, epic work whose finale, the powerful and profound Grosse Fugue, shows the composer at the height of his powers in his final years.

The Maxwell Quartet is a Scottish-based quartet whose performances have brought them accolades and awards across the world.  Since winning the Trondheim Chamber Music competition they have been much in demand.

Colin Scobie                Violin

George Smith             Violin

Elliott Perks                 Viola

Duncan Strachan        Cello

Mozart                         String Quartet No.17 in B-flat, K.458 “Hunt”

Shostakovich              String Quartet No.9 in E-flat, Op.117

Beethoven                   String Quartet No.13 in B-flat, Op.130 “Grosse Fugue”

Tickets £17, £10 Concessions £13, £8


Duration 2 hours

Location Map

Stromness Town Hall

Church Road KW16 3BA

Driving Directions

Use the form below to get driving directions to this location (these are kindly provided by google)

St Magnus International Festival, 13 Albert Street, Kirkwall, KW15 1HP

T: +44 (0)1856 871445

E: info@stmagnusfestival.com

St Magnus Festival is a charity registered in Scotland. Scottish Charity No SC011666. Company Number SC073825.

website by plexus media