, Start Time: 20:00, End Time: 22:00 St Magnus Cathedral Broad Street, Kirkwall KW15 1NX

Alexei Volodin photo by Marco Borggreve

Acclaimed for his highly sensitive touch and technical brilliance, the Russian pianist Alexei Volodin is in demand throughout the world. To inaugurate the new Festival piano he brings to Orkney a programme which commemorates the 400th anniversary of the death of Shakespeare.

This programme also gives a second chance to hear some of Prokofiev’s colourful music for Romeo and Juliet scaled down from orchestra to a single instrument and Rachmaninov’s virtuosic reduction of Mendelssohn’s intricate orchestral scherzo from A Midsummer Night’s Dream. Medtner, a younger contemporary of Rachmaninov and Scriabin, completes the Shakespearean tribute with a passionate and highly-charged work based on “Blow, winds, and crack your cheeks” from King Lear.

The final and most substantial work in this programme owes its background more to another great literary figure, Goethe, and specifically the tragic tale of Faust. It is an epic work showing Rachmaninov’s prodigious talent both as pianist and composer.

Alexei Volodin Piano

Prokofiev Romeo and Juliet, Ten Pieces for Piano, Op. 75
Mendelssohn Scherzo from A Midsummer Night’s Dream (arr. Rachmaninov)
Medtner from Four Tales, Op. 35, No. 4 in C-sharp minor
Rachmaninov Sonata for Piano No. 1, Op. 28

Tickets £35, £25, £10 Concessions £26, £19, £8

Location Map

St Magnus Cathedral

Broad Street KW15 1NX

Tel: 01856 874894

St Magnus International Festival, 13 Albert Street, Kirkwall, KW15 1HP

T: +44 (0)1856 871445

E: info@stmagnusfestival.com

St Magnus Festival is a charity registered in Scotland. Scottish Charity No SC011666. Company Number SC073825.

website by plexus media