21 Yoanna Prodanova & Mihai Ritivoiu

, Start Time: 11:00, End Time: 12:40 Stromness Town Hall Church Road, Stromness KW16 3BA

This dynamic duo presents a wide-ranging recital with two mighty sonatas at its heart. Both in the minor key, Shostakovich’s work written in a period of emotional turmoil and Chopin’s late work the cause of composerly uncertainty, they are searing works both central to the cello repertoire. Surrounding these are Beethoven’s variations on Mozart’s tune from The Magic Flute and three works from composers in the 20th and 21st centuries.

Bulgarian born Prodanova and Romanian Ritivoiu are both prizewinning young artists and they have garnered acclaim individually and, as a duo, they are supported by the Musicians’ Company.

Yoanna Prodanova Cello
Mihai Ritivoiu Piano
Beethoven Variations on ‘Bei Männern, welche Liebe fühlen’
Shostakovich Sonata for Cello and Piano in D minor, Op. 40
Cassado Requiebros
Kurtág Az hit… for cello
Adès Three Mazurkas for piano, Op. 27
Chopin Sonata for Cello and Piano in G minor, Op. 65

Tickets £17, £10 / Concessions £13, £8
Duration 1 hour 40 minutes


Location Map

Stromness Town Hall

Church Road KW16 3BA

Driving Directions

Use the form below to get driving directions to this location (these are kindly provided by google)

St Magnus International Festival, 13 Albert Street, Kirkwall, KW15 1HP

T: +44 (0)1856 871445

E: info@stmagnusfestival.com

St Magnus Festival is a charity registered in Scotland. Scottish Charity No SC011666. Company Number SC073825.

website by plexus media