26 The Romantic Violin II

, Start Time: 11:00, End Time: 12:30 Stromness Town Hall Church Road, Stromness KW16 3BA

Foyle Stsura Duo

Michael Foyle Violin
Maksim Stsura Piano

The three sonatas in this programme draw music from three corners of Europe in time of war with Janáček’s work coming from the start of the 1914-18 period – “I could just about hear sound of the steel clashing in my troubled head,” he said. Both Debussy’s, his last work, and Respighi’s Sonatas are intense and serious works perhaps reflective of the world in conflict.

Bringing us right up to date is Kenneth Hesketh’s specially commissioned new work.

Scots violinist Michael Foyle and Estonian Pianist Maksim Stsura have a burgeoning reputation as a duo performing throughout Europe.

Janáček Violin Sonata
Kenneth Hesketh Inscrizione (derivata) (A Lie to the Dying) *WORLD PREMIERE*
Debussy Sonata for Violin and Piano in G minor
Respighi Sonata for Violin and Piano in B minor

Tickets £17 / £10 Concessions £10 / £8
Duration 1 hour 30 minutes

An abundance of mature musical expression and a rare, seemingly limitless variety of tonal colour.

Location Map

Stromness Town Hall

Church Road KW16 3BA

Driving Directions

Use the form below to get driving directions to this location (these are kindly provided by google)

St Magnus International Festival, 13 Albert Street, Kirkwall, KW15 1HP

T: +44 (0)1856 871445

E: info@stmagnusfestival.com

St Magnus Festival is a charity registered in Scotland. Scottish Charity No SC011666. Company Number SC073825.

website by plexus media