29 Zoë Martlew

, Start Time: 21:15, End Time: 23:00 St Peter's Kirk Skaill, Sandwick, Skaill, Sandwick KW16 3LS

Buses depart 21.15 - Concert starts at 22.00

The drama of solo cello is exploited here in a recital of music ranging from pieces originally for viol to newly created works by this cellist/ composer. At the heart of the recital is Ligeti’s beguiling and hypnotic solo sonata.

A virtuoso, a composer, a writer, Zoë Martlew brings her virtuosity together with her sensitive interpretation to explore the acoustics of St Peter’s with intriguing solo repertoire.

Zoë Martlew Cello

Zoë Martlew Rögnvaldr *World Première*
Jonathan Harvey 
Curve with Plateaux (1987)
Bent Sørensen The Wings of Spring (2010)
Ligeti Sonata for Solo Cello (1948-53)
Jean de Sainte-Colombe Les Pleurs (arr. Martlew) c.1660/2018
Zoë Martlew Stir (2013)
Anders Nordentoft Impetuoso (2014)
Bent Sørensen The Wings of Spring (2004)

Tickets £25 / Concessions £19
Duration 1 hour

Please note that St Peter's is unheated so please bring warm clothing.

Ticket includes transport
Buses depart Palace Road, Kirkwall at 21:15 / Concert 22:00
Buses depart St Peter’s Kirk and return to Palace Road after the concert

Parking is limited, please use the Festival buses


Location Map

St Peter's Kirk

Skaill, Sandwick KW16 3LS

Driving Directions

Use the form below to get driving directions to this location (these are kindly provided by google)

St Magnus International Festival, 13 Albert Street, Kirkwall, KW15 1HP

T: +44 (0)1856 871445

E: info@stmagnusfestival.com

St Magnus Festival is a charity registered in Scotland. Scottish Charity No SC011666. Company Number SC073825.

website by plexus media