Winners of Composers' Competition announced

Posted on

The winners of the St Magnus Composers’ Competition have been chosen.

This year we mark the 900th Anniversary of the martyrdom of St Magnus. Surviving from the middle ages is a piece of polyphony that is known as the Hymn to St Magnus (Nobilis Humilis). In partnership with Canterbury Christ Church University, St Magnus International Festival created an opportunity for composers to work with this music.

Composers were asked to take this music as a starting point for a new short piece of 5-6 miuntes and for an ensemble consisting of a line-up of violin, cello, flute and clarinet.

There are joint first prizewinners in both Under 18 and Over 18 as follows:

Under 18  
Gareth Flett   Piece No. 2
Joe Pickering   Orkneyinga

Over 18
Andra Patterson   Magnushymnen
George Stevenson   Bana-sar

The entries were judged anonymously by Sally Beamish and Alasdair Nicolson with members of the ensemble.

The pieces will be premiered in the Cathedral on 22nd June at 13.00 by The Assembly Project conducted by Alasdair Nicolson. The concert will also feature four pieces by Sir Peter Maxwell Davies

For more info or tickets, click here

St Magnus Festival has become an integrated and pluralistic festival and a precious element of Scotland's cultural landscape
Herald Scotland

St Magnus International Festival, 13 Albert Street, Kirkwall, KW15 1HP

T: +44 (0)1856 871445


St Magnus Festival is a charity registered in Scotland. Scottish Charity No SC011666. Company Number SC073825.

website by plexus media